newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2004-01-05

Madge Sinclair
B. 4.28.38 Kingston, Jamaica / D. 12.20.95 Los Angeles
Leukemia

I move from room to room in the manner of the great kabaka of 19th-century Buganda—dread Mutesa, emulator of lions, who always walked stiff-legged on his toes. I steady myself in the doorways. Like an ingenue�s heartbeat threatening to burst her purple negligee, blood rains hammer blows on the windows I�ve ripped in the skin of my heels. While reading or watching TV, I pick away the new callus; I peel it off in a litter of strips. There's a TV ad running lately for 1-800 product called �Miracle Skin Repair.� Every time it airs, I picture thousands of my kind being roused from our lingering hand-feasts of flesh to stalk the nearest or most helpless telephones
Nants ingonyama bagithi baba
There comes a lion
Sithi uhhmm ingonyama
Oh yes, it�s a lion
Ingonyama.

Consolation Site: Circle of life

: back : / : forth :