newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2006-10-17

Hannelore Schmatz
B. 2.16.1940 Germany / D. 10.2.1979 See Below
Exhaustion

Drowsy thoughts down from the top of Mount Everest
I�d have had
no nose
missing fingers, missing toes
prosthetic shoes and surgeons� bills
a lifetime of antibacterial salves
and ambered gauze

Occasional thoughts on the wrong coast from Hollywood
I�d have had
no nose
missing septum, missing passages
credit card debt and surgeons� bills
a lifetime of Narcotics Anonymous meetings
and avoided looks

Running thoughts upon the road not taken to academia
I�d have had
a nose ring once
fleshed-in piercing, fleshed-in midriff
former students and former student lovers
a life spent in terror of e-mail
and ethics litigation

Related thoughts from the outside of traditional matrimony
I�d have had
an imperfect copy of my nose
or maybe two, or maybe none
half at best and divorce attorney�s bills
a life sentence to misdirected mail
and gritted courtesies

Pentagrammatical thoughts to drive off last week�s job
I�d have had
to hold my nose by now
their stinking, my stinking
unanswered e-mails and neglected cats
a lifetime�s enough of bronchitis
and angry mirror gazing

Consolation Site: 7 summits

: back : / : forth :