newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2006-09-21

Giacomo Puccini
B. 12.22.1858 Lucca, Italy / D. 11.29.1924 Brussels
Throat Cancer

I have the strangest
this is true by the way
thing�a phantom lover
who first took my hand in hers on the Coney Island boardwalk this past spring
on a Sunday�possibly the time I was listening to Tosca
walking home from the F train after church in the sun.

The way it works
I�ve learned
is that when you�ve got a phantom lover
you are beloved�there�s no doubt about this which makes you feel like a person of stature and valor whose soul is all delighted modesty
in other words blessed�not only which but you love in return
the bemusing presence by your side, the sun-worshippers� brassieres, the tiny dogs, the men.

Maybe two other times on the boardwalk, once on the beach, last night on a downtown bus
I�m noticing a pattern
to church, that once on the way to communion�my phantom lover
chooses her own moments�except the time I wanted you to meet me at the intersection by my job and you did
I confess you if it keeps you near�if only to maintain this sudden and mysterious ability
to walk along unbothered, unrecoiling from another�s freely given touch.

Consolation Site: Audiences everywhere

: back : / : forth :