newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2005-05-23

Fannie Hurst
B. 10.18.1889 Hamilton, Ohio / D. 2.23.1968 New York City
Unknown

Tonight I�d like to ring for tea.
Dear
yes, it would suit me much better to cross to the bell-pull and signal my readiness
on a drear eve
for tea, please, than to make it myself. Alas! Only me, alas and alack, at both ends of the bell-pull, like a slip-knot into which preference
length by length
vanishes. I don�t like the sound the gas makes against the bottom of the kettle; I don�t like to pour the boiling water out. Steam is distasteful to me. I too frequently picture it causing the wallpaper to bubble and pests coming to breed there, fattened on glue, this in spite of the wholly wallpaper-less state of my present surroundings: steam
the thought of you
gets me. My genes harbor multitudes of ghetto laundresses who pressed scalded palms to tropical motifs (c-r-r-runch!) that were fading
a brief repair.

Consolation Site: My Man Trotsky

: back : / : forth :