newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2004-11-15

Patricia Highsmith (b. Mary Patricia Plangman)
B. 1.19.1921 Fort Worth / D. 2.4.1995 Locarno, Switzerland
Liver Failure

I have just this afternoon, forgoing work, re-read for probably the ninth time and I believe the third since I have worked from home, Claire Morgan�s The Price of Salt. May I express my appreciation for Patricia Highsmith, who wrote this evidently my favorite American novel in 1952? Because can there be any more romantic a tale adorning the firmament of If Only, than the happy ending-in-the-Elys�e piano bar-May-October love of Therese Belivet and Carol Aird? And talk about a love exquisitely rendered in all its details. From the cold weather and light to the textures and fingernails: it�s like you�re being etched; every scene is indelible. All I have to do is re-read the pages of their first meeting across a toy counter the week before Christmas at Manhattan�s busiest fictional department store, instantly I�m in a holiday mood
and then some.

Consolation Site: What I�m on about

: back : / : forth :