newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2004-11-08

Yasser Arafat (b. Mohammed Abdel-Raouf Arafat al-Qudwa al-Hussaini)
B. 8.4.1929 Cairo / D. ? Paris
Something to do with blood

But there�s a terrible alarm outside
a whooping clanging loop of bell and siren.
The night�s become a gong.
The ones I feel for are the cats
the ones in here and outside in the courtyard where it�s ringing off the brick.
Tender ears I cannot spare.

Not like the time my downstairs neighbor Gilda and I went into Petland and the electronic door alert double-chime was kaput in the worst way, ding-donging every ten seconds, door open or not. Following the torture to its source I found a speaker mechanism draped from a nail just above the row of rabbit cages. Then I knew what torture was. All the rabbits were wide awake and lying on their sides, one ear each beneath them. So I made sure no Petland employees were watching and then I reached out and unplugged the thing. Come to think I haven�t heard it since and that must have been Eastertime.
But this I'm powerless to silence.

Which rankles me with this alarm
that I�d been very mellow in the wake of my decision to no longer follow politics
but now I�m getting very tense again.
A horrible alarm, at heart a yelp of pain replayed to echo
and something like a single snippet of a choked involuntary cry repeating in the mezzo role.
I�ve finally shut the windows
even though I know I�ll forfeit some of my reward:
the reward of when it stops.

Released into the night sky with a weightless leaping.

Consolation Site: Heart Him or Hate Him

: back : / : forth :