newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2004-06-14

William Strunk, Jr.
B. 1869 Cincinnati / D. 9.26.1946 ?
Unclear

Here I am at Copy Editing 101, seeking alternatives,
and contemplating a brick wall across the way, through the window.
The workshop conductor opens: �I�m going to speak loudly.�
Sweet "loudly," surprising me:
Too long since I�ve sat where it hasn�t been �loud.�
Sweet balm on Lower Broadway�I feel that I�m healed, somehow.
I can straighten my spine.
Adverbial healing!
The workshop conductor has to speak loudly: there must be eighty people in the room
a long hot room at mediabistro.
Career education:
Polish your shell!
Swiftly I perceive that I�m not the only one who�s heard copy editors have a relatively easeful time of it in this world of toil.
(�No, you�re supposed to use an n-dash there, not an m-dash. That will be thirty-five dollars an hour, please.�)
Work two weeks in the month�granted they�re hectic.
I picture a hapless editor, pawing at me for the edited copy;
I contemplate Bartleby�s view:
�I would prefer not to.�

Consolation Site: Thus write

: back : / : forth :