newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2004-02-25

Edna St. Vincent Millay
B. 2.22.1892 Rockland, Maine / D. 10.19.1950 "Steepletop," Austerlitz, New York
Fall

I�m not a nun, though I might act the part
In silence, at a Hudson Line retreat;
Retire at nine, awaken with a start
To Matins� blackness at the bed-clock�s bleat.
But dawn descries the Hudson�s seething plot
Of ice floes backswept by a tidal run.
A nun is one more thing that I am not
As long as winter iron succumbs to sun:
I could not damp the fizzing at my mouth
With even thinner bedspreads, smaller rooms.
Vespers drew the Coast Guard cutter south
Behind advance-guard choruses of booms;
Across my view dashed�ere it could appear�
eleven sixteen twenty white-tailed deer.

Consolation Site: Second April

: back : / : forth :