newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2002-08-12

Walter Duranty
B. 1884 Liverpool, England. / D. 1957 Orlando, Florida
Excess No Doubt

While making an omelet the other night I decided to go for three eggs but the third one had blood in the yolk. This by the way is why they always say to break each egg into a smaller bowl�an adjunct, sub-bowl�first, and then pour it on in. Because the bloody yolk burst and encrimsoned the two eggs already waiting in my mixing bowl�so it was back to square (or ovoid) one for me, with three down the drain. My immediate �Oh shit I SHOULD have used a sub-bowl� reaction was immediately tempered by the delightful thought that I might be in for a run of good luck�for mustn�t this be the meaning of a bloody yolk? Folk wisdom�I must have heard it somewhere�maybe I don�t even need to hear it�it�s just there, tucked in my genes. Good luck�fertility, good work, good harvests. . .or not? Is it a bad omen, maybe? One more thing I really don�t feel like looking up on the internet�Old Wives Tales Eggs Blood Luck.

I have just made bacon for the cats�although I swore I wouldn�t�and the wretches are too sated with their special tuna treats to be bothered. . .yet. Anyway I wrote all that (above) back in June at Writing Group; and it came to mind tonight while I was cracking eggs by a little method that I like to call, �With One Hand� (again for an omelet; again straight into the mixing bowl). And although a good bit of white from the third was left on my fingers, it had two yolks which fell out whole. I thought, Well that MUST be lucky!

Consolation Site: I Repeat�Fucking Brits!

: back : / : forth :