newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2002-05-02

Djuna Barnes
B. 6.12.1892 Cornwall-on-Hudson, New York / D. 6.18.1982 New York City
Criticism

Again when I pick up the pen the first thing comes to mind is �O, what a rogue and peasant slave am I!�
And I just surrender to it finally.
What am I stronger than the earth�s crust which even it folds every once in awhile?
Why prolong resistance for I can�t win�why even sidestep?
Nature nature nature nature and Shakespeare�silly to dither.
Put up your dukes�knock me down.

But really-o, what a rotten time I�m like to give myself each day without perceptible surcease.
Should have been an actress�long ago.
Even New England can�t find the weather to begrudge every blossoming tree.
Cleaner living inside lines I didn�t write, like choice hotels.
Guilt guilt guilt guilt and a week from now�appearing nightly.
Marriage! No�Revenge!

Consolation Site: Ladies Almanack (1928)

: back : / : forth :