newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2002-02-10

Princess Margaret
B. 8.21.30 Glamis, Scotland / D. 2.9.02 London
Stroke

To many people, Princess Margaret was the black sheep of her generation of royals. But that reputation did not necessarily trouble her. According to a biographer, Theo Aronson, she once told the French poet and filmmaker Jean Cocteau, �Disobedience is my joy.� In a bit of a dragged-down state over the death of another (older sadder more broken down) princess of England.
Easily bored and often petulant, the princess was known for indulging her moods. I�m flying to London tomorrow for a week�there�ll be quite a bit about her in the air, I suppose, if I have the time to pay attention.
Her extravagant style also prompted outrage. I�ll be terribly busy patronizing the arts and haunting gravesites for suitable topics of composition�doing all those things I ought to be doing here all the time but just can�t seem to swing�
Critics complained that the number of her public appearances, which had once averaged 150 a year, had dwindled to well below 100. Some Labor members of Parliament called her an embarrassment to the monarchy. �especially on weekends.
Princess Margaret�s love of fun and informality coexisted with a sterner side. She insisted that she be addressed as �Ma�am,� except for her closest friends, who were permitted to call her �Ma�am darling.� The haughty manner alienated many friends. Distance! I need distance! I don�t want people to know me.
The princess herself remained reticent about her private life. �I have no intention of telling people what I have for breakfast,� she once said. And I don�t mind being mistaken for another (cheaper grayer less demonstrative) mourner from out of town, really.

Quotations from The New York Times (2.10.02)

: back : / : forth :