newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2001-09-03

Ray Kroc
B. 11.5.02 Oak Park, Illinois / D. 1.14.84 San Diego, California
Heart Disease

�Can you really ask what reason Pythagoras had for abstaining from flesh? For my part,� wrote Plutarch, �I rather wonder both by what accident and in what state of soul or mind the first man did so, touched his mouth to gore and brought his lips to the flesh of a dead creature, he who set forth tables of dead, stale bodies and ventured to call food and nourishment the parts that had a little before bellowed and cried, moved and lived.� I�m afraid I haven�t found in the greater certainty of their not being made out of animal penises quite enough to recommend soy dogs over an occasional all-beef frankfurter or two.
�How could his eyes endure the slaughter when throats were slit and hides flayed and limbs torn from limb? How could his nose endure the stench? How was it that the pollution did not turn away his taste, which made contact with the sores of others and sucked juices and serums from mortal wounds?� So what? I want my ego examined by the appropriate presiding angels�I demand an opportunity to compare my current score against the norm�to know, right now: Haven�t I renounced enough?
�I do not like eating meat because I have seen lambs and pigs killed. I saw and felt their pain. They felt the approaching death. I could not bear it. I cried like a child. I ran up a hill and could not breathe. I felt that I was choking. I felt the death of the lamb.� Thus Nijinsky. Europeans�what do they want? Scary animal parts-eaters, tongue-eaters, no better than ancestors. They want our steaks, and our burgers and chops, and our forgetfulness.

Consolation Site: EEEK! A Life.

: back : / : forth :