newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2001-04-02

Today as I attended�shameful to admit how closely�to the trial which Court TV is broadcasting live from Florida, where a Croatian/Australian madman named Rajcevic has been imprisoned for the past twelve months on a misdemeanor charge, subsequent to being arrested at last year�s Ericsson Open for writing, calling, faxing, following from tournament to tournament, calling out to from crowds, ringing the front doorbell of, taking flights from Sydney to Zurich for the sole purpose of hand-delivering flowers to�in short, for stalking my beloved Hingis�my sympathies were like tides in a time-lapse film; they rose and fell so swiftly and strangely that I am a bit dizzied, and my opinion is swaying.

My personal experience of the phenomenon on trial is reflected in my famous First Maxim of Dating: �Tonight�s lazy favor is tomorrow�s scary phone call.� The self-mutilating stalker, as one type, holds especially few mysteries for me. But so what if in MY experience they fade away�they don�t in everyone�s! On the other hand, it's clear that despite having had the good fortune to be arrested in Florida, The Constitutional Rights State, Rajcevic's $2 million bail was excessive, and he has been denied a speedy trial (the Hingis side insisted she couldn�t testify until this week�right after the Ericsson, when she�s in Key Biscayne again).

As it turns out, Rajcevic didn�t just want to marry Martina Hingis, he also wanted to help improve her service game so she�d have a better chance against the Williams Sisters, the Davenport, et al. Here, too, I have some personal experience. Last fall, after the U.S. Open, my fancies and faculties were deeply engaged in wishing I could get "someone" to pay me to travel with and write about the women�s tour, where I would befriend Hingis and help her win the French�finally�and then help Jelena Dokic (my favorite pro athlete) beat Hingis at Wimbledon (again). And you know that birthday-based bio-rhythm test I found in the fan chatroom on Jelena's web site DID say we have an emotional compatibility of 100%.

Physical compatibility: 7%.

By the way, speaking of threatened celebrities, I was aghast to learn from my friend Chris (who comprehends sitemeter) that some maniac had come to this site by way of a google search for a phrase suggesting that harm�specifically, death�should come to Martha Stewart. In fact my page displaying the entry in question was the number one hit. So I mean, what is the point of trying to better one�s position in life? After all my hardly-daring daydream hopes that the complimentary nature of my feelings might be brought to her attention. . .someday, and lead. . .somewhere�to wind up. . .contemptible.

Here�s one for google: ellipses overused diaryland

In the private dreamworld in which the me/not-me who stars has won Wimbledon thrice, I am playing Martina Hingis for the first time, in a grand slam semi-final, during her first year on the women�s tour. Stepping well into the court each time, I return her first three serves for blistering winners. Whereupon I pause and am observed to mouth the words, Plan B. I then retreat two feet behind the baseline and continue to return her serves from there throughout the duration of the three-set match�which I lose. This is how deeply my spirit pays homage to my beloved Hingis. But today in my daydreams I finally said to her, in consternation, How could you let that mad little man suffer in a foreign jail for twelve long months while you flew around the world playing tennis and making lots of money and maintaining your number one ranking? You talked to him on the phone when he called you, for Christ�s sake. You live in Tampa, for Christ�s sake.

: back : / : forth :