newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2001-01-06

One day I was walking downhill towards home from Eighth, and a woman sitting on her stoop called out as I approached her, "Buddha, my sister died last week!"

She had just an instant earlier caught my eye and there was no one else in sight�it flooded my mind that she must be talking to me but I didn't say, "I'm so sorry," I didn't think of it. Instead I was asking myself, Am I the Buddha?

Then she repeated her call and this time I followed her gaze across the street to where another woman standing by a car door squinted back, open-mouthed, a preoccupied Brooklynite trying to remember whether she'd even known the woman shouting at her had a sister.

: back : / : forth :