newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2008-08-13

Nelson Riddle
B. 6.1.1921 Oradell, New Jersey / D. 10.6.1985 Los Angeles
Liver Ailments

Are we still dating?
I wish I knew, but since we�re not communicating
day to day
I don�t. It�s queer.
Are we still dating?
I must confess, if it were up to me we would be copulating
in �our� way
but it is not�this much is clear.

You do not call.
You do not write.
I am alone
another night.
I wish I knew
a better cure for blue
than you.

Are you still internally debating?
I�d hate to interrupt in case it�s my side advocating
for its say
before the judge and jury of its peer.
What are you incubating?
Something scarier than silence, I�m anticipating:
we shall see
if ever you�re no longer neither there nor here.

You do not call.
You do not write.
I am alone
another night.
Oh woe is me
a tragedy:
Too free.

Are we still dating?
If not I can�t imagine why you�re hesitating:
�Go away.�
I hear you say it when you don�t appear.
Does it need stating?
I�m very sorry that I made us lose our PG13 rating:
two can play
but I forgot that only one should steer.

You do not call.
You do not write.
I liked you so
you really might.
�For you I pine
and balsam too.�
It�s true.

Are we still dating?
This afternoon I thought of emigrating.
I thought you hated waiting�
or maybe that was only me projected onto you�I�m hating
your delay
in any case�oh, not hate but fear.
I find this enervating.
My face feels full of little after-happy smiles deflating;
with a sigh
each smile subsides and waits to be a tear.

You do not call.
You do not write.
I liked you so
you really might.
A word or two
would really do:
As in
�Adieu.�

Consolation Site: For Sinatra 1954 / For Rags & James

: back : / : forth :