newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2006-11-29

Dorothy Thompson
B. 7.9.1893 Lancaster, New York / D. 1.30.1961 Lisbon
Unspecified

Today I heard Dave Brubeck�s Take Five on the radio and remembered how when I first heard it in junior high school it seemed to epitomize everything I would ever want out of life. If I could just make it in one piece to a place where that number was playing, and it was a city, and I was free, then I�d be happy; but it should really be New York City. Which today it was, when I heard that sneaky sax come over the radio in the bagel shop on Hudson Street where I was eating lunch, a bagel with cream cheese, sitting in the window looking out at Greenwich Village people, some of whom I knew, and reading between bites a Philip Roth novel about fascists taking over America.

Consolation Site: O.K., Chief

: back : / : forth :