newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2006-09-29

Emma Lazarus
B. 7.22.1849 New York, NY / D. 11.19.1887 New York, NY
Cancer

I prepare to weigh in on the immigration debate.
I pause to prise my dry roasted hands from this length of fence wire
which had looked so close to harmless.
A crown of light approaches from the east;
the wing beats of its bearers roar.
I reflect upon good fortune.
If I hadn�t frozen solid in the transport north
(what is �Fish�?)
I might have cooked right through.
Strange that my fingers make me hungry.
Strange how the white earth puckers and spits dust
there there there
like boiling porridge.

Consolation Site: lines

: back : / : forth :