newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2006-01-06

Jonathan Larson
B. 2.4.1960 New York City / D. 1.25.1996 New York City
Aortic aneurysm

I had a strange experience tonight when I flitted off from PBS at Washington Week�s conclusion.
I love Gwen Ifill.

Practicing my latest C-Span kick I wound up head-on with George W. Bush speaking in public, earlier today, at an economics club in Chicago which struck me as sort of small time considering his celebrity.
I flinch first at his image and then at his barking.
I turn down the sound, watch and see he�s really worked up a temper.
I unmute, and learn it�s the public schools.
He�s really angry at non-White Christian teachers, every Commie Dyke Darkie Jew one of them, keeping kids back.
He doubts their work ethic; he abhors their sympathies.
I warm to him; I hate them too.
A Brighter Future for America.

Of course I don�t hate public school teachers, but what I�m trying to get at here is the president�s essentially limbic appeal to a lower common denominator than that with which one normally mixes while thinking;
He�s got an edge.

not like the buzz Clinton could cause but more like a shadowy rush, suddenly dimming the background; what�s left to see looks very simple.
We�re still making stuff and sending it off.
Yes more nurses would be good.
Dig the loose and confident carriage.
Compared to anyone he�d be convincing.

I caught myself thinking George W. Bush met professional standards, just like I thought a long time ago in a high school auditorium where they were putting on a high school play:
A Brighter Future for America.
I catch a whiff of steroids.
He�s just padding his clubs and activities list.
The lockered hallways settle on me like an iron lung.

Consolation Site: Tell your brother

: back : / : forth :