newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2004-06-30

Marianne Moore
B. 11.15.1887 Kirkwood, Missouri / D. 2.5.1972 New York City
Strokes

As I lay waking
In my dream I�d just saved a young man from dying of electrical shock by sticking a plug of cold butter in his ear. In doing so I'd realized that I knew to do this because I was Edith Wharton. The butter plug was a tip she�d picked up from reading a history of Australia, as she recalled. To commemorate the saving of the young man, a very muscular and pink one, she would go on to set a famous section of a famous story on a boat bound from Australia to someplace she�d really been.
to summer in New York, where the parade floats shake beneath the pelvic revelries of non-combatants
The young man had been holding a wire that shocked him, made him fall down in convulsions. We were separated by some distance, across the struts and empty shaft-mouths of an indoor building site. By the time I reached him, presumably while I was becoming Edith Wharton, he�d been stripped. A young woman knelt beside his shivering unconscious pink body. I told her she�d got to cover him with a blanket, and then get some cold butter for the ear plug.
another flawless blue sky wasted itself on my mini-venetians.
Distantly, a small loud dog barked moth-holes in the morning�s peace.

Consolation Site: Mongoose Civique

: back : / : forth :