newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2004-04-19

Paul Revere
B. 1.1.1735 Boston / D. 5.10.1818 Boston
Natural Causes

On day patrol, I�m all ears.
I don�t want to hit you.
Fat caf�-au-lait crouches, blocking a crosswalk on one side of Broadway; has her toddler by the elbows, telling him
I really, really don�t want to hit you.
Tones of kindness and sweet reason: I guess he's caught her on a good day. (Afterwards of course you think, Why didn�t I shout
�Get out of the crosswalk and stop threatening that child! The way you outweigh him, must feel like being menaced by a dinosaur!�)
Girlfriend and an older girl child hang back, hugging the scenery, sparing themselves the edification. Their feigned blankness bothers me.
(I don�t want to hit you?)
But on day patrol, I am elected to alarm. For this reason, as I stride past the laggard twosome I make sure they can hear me repeating, passing the word:
�I don�t want to hit you. I really, really don�t want to hit you.�

Consolation Site: So honorable and useful

: back : / : forth :