newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2003-08-24

Mileva Einstein-Maric
12.19.1875 Titel-Vojvodina, Yugoslavia / D. 9.4.1948 Zurich
Heart Disease

In the 80's attention exciting private Einstein letters to the public arrived, from which it follows that Albert Einstein with its former Kommilitonin Mileva Maric had an illegitimate daughter.
I�m sitting on the Q train as usual. To my left, two working guys wearing head scarves play video games on a cell phone. A white guy gets on, sits down at my right, and starts poking his PalmPilot with a little stylus. The sounds of Purcell in my headphones do not entirely damp now twin cascades of manly beeps. I lean over to see whether my new neighbor's �gaming� too, but lacking interest sufficient to summon guile, I�m much too obvious about it.
At the end of January 1902, Einstein was in Berne, Mileva brought a girl with its parents in Novi Sad to the world. From contents of the letters one can assume that the birth was difficult. Probably the girl was baptized. Their official first name is unknown. In the received letters one finds only the name �Lieserl.�
So he notices. A flinch swift as a bumblebee�s U-turn ensues, with a flash of blue-eye. He crooks his wrist to conceal the tiny screen. Drowning in music as I am I cannot communicate my indifference to this eventuality by sputtering, �Oh puhleeze.� I elect, instead, a pantomime of my intent: What I Was Thinking. I glance from his hands to the cell phone screen, scene of alien slaughter, and back.
The further life way of Lieserl is also today not yet finally clarified. Michele serrating home comes in its book, "Einstein's daughter" to the conclusion that Lieserl was mentally handicapped from birth and lived with Milevas family. The moreover it is convinced of the fact that Lieserl died in September 1903 at the consequences of a crowd laughter infection.
But that hot spurt of angry-at-strangers syrup is taking its time to dissolve. My shoulders, my incipient dewlaps, too, are tingling. I must analyze, I can�t release, this male who would make of his own pokings and peepings something too precious for my infidel eyes. Now, frankly, I stare.
In addition, the letters specified above put the assumption close that Lieserl was released after the birth for adoption.
Thirty-five to my age, maybe. Hair reddish blond; eyelashes sparse; among the pale facial planes more hollows than bulges; lower lip thick, possibly pout-thickened. Unremarkably clothed until the dreadful russet-colored shoes, an obscure euro-hybrid of the orthopedic and sportif�sporthos. . .as once favored by Aeneas.
In a letter of Einstein from 19 September 1903 at Mileva Lieserl a last mark was mentioned. Afterwards one receives nothing more from Lieserl Einstein Maric.
He stands to exit at Canal Street. I picture him beloved in his past by a woman whose better judgment had been to pass him by. But his persistence, or her own boredom, or a sharp and recent pain, an August doldrums�something had persuaded her to look again. �Unprepossessing, yes, but anyway a man." Or perhaps it went, �Just maybe.� Three to five days later she loved. His pettishness, his pouting, his thin skin, his bad table manners, his addiction to gadgetry, his incipient hair loss: every bit of him became adorable, every oddity (or not) to be defended as the lioness her cubs. He had no sense of humor: Not really! He didn�t please her in bed (not really): He�d learn to try. Here was a man conquering things of the mind every day, a soldier of thought. How could he fail to solve her simple body? Later all they�d been through all the many messy painful months had simplified her love. He was her fate; she, his: had to be.
The reasons, why Albert Einstein and Mileva Maric did not take their daughter after the birth to itself, are not to be described here more near.
Six months after that he told her it wasn�t working for him anymore. He wanted to travel, he thought. He wanted to do something original with his ideas, he told her. While his friends from college were having these huge careers and here he was. She was always criticizing him. And yes he�d met someone else but that really wasn�t the point.
Also today there are no signs for the fact that Albert Einstein saw his daughter ever.
Einstein, my sister said, instantly, when I told her I needed a dead man who'd hurt the woman who loved him. Einstein and his wife, because he was in love with his cousin who'd nursed him through a breakdown.

All quotations taken from on-line �automatic translation� of original German.

Consolation Site: We are one stone

: back : / : forth :