newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2003-02-15

Dolly
B. 7.5.96 Edinburgh / D. 2.14.03 Edinburgh
Lung Infection / Euthanasia

Six years old when she should have lived twelve.
Dolly�s like Franz Schubert; she�s like Emily Bront� or Rimbaud�s muse,
prematurely snatched.
An empty pen where �her� body
chops and all
last bleated and swooned
reminds me:
I didn�t go to Manhattan for the protest rally today.
Sat home when I should have been chilling my blood
within me or spilled
on a cordoned sidewalk while mounted police circled and reared.
I listened to Don Giovanni
live from the Met (as I could have done at the barricades on the transistor radio I've bought just in case; and I regretted missing that second bird during the overture)
�my� choice
my genes in an ancient aspic of opera and steam heat and cats
keeping.

: back : / : forth :