newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2001-10-18

Stanley Kubrick
B. 7.26.28 Bronx, New York / D. 3.7.99 Hertfordshire, England
Heart Attack

War is darkness in daylight and sick-making smells�it is pollution. Someone tell me what I am supposed to do with the information contained in the following statement: �And then the other group leader put her palm on my forehead and I still remember so vividly how the whole room vanished and I was all alone in a place filled with white light. And the light felt very warm and holy and I was filled with this sense of peace, and suddenly I perceived this movement in front of me which I realized was a newborn baby, this sticky little newborn infant glowing in the center of this bright bright light, squinting right up into its source with this great big smile, squirming on a bed of straw. And somehow I knew that was me. That was my soul.�
But the potential for comedy�ooof! What a field day. You�ve got your hoaxes, your pratfalls (�We found someone alive! We found�oh, it�s you guys�), your tongue-tripping place names, your pantomime beards; misalliance, misprision, mistaken identity, chopped onion, sauerkraut, the works. When you know that Blake painting of King Nebuchadnezzar become like the beasts of the field? That�s me.
And you just want it all to be over faster but it has to play out, has to play out. �Touch my head,� I say across the vast and packet-strewn expanse of booth table. �See for yourself.�

: back : / : forth :