newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2001-03-23

Gracious, I'm at 1300! Thank you Lorelei Lee!

I did feel awful about not doing more of an entry last night but I spent a long time trying to create a nasty new collage for the fifth installment of my 1995 salute to American womanhood (I was going to Photoshop some old nudie to give her a full-body tattoo of �Harry Potter� as portrayed by the �actor� who�ll be playing him in the film, as photographed by �Annie Leibowitz� in London on the set�but that image just didn�t work out, yet, so tonight I did another one instead) and by the time I finally got around to writing, my sister had turned on some HBO show about crack whores and it was very distracting. One woman was going on and on about ALWAYS getting her �one hundred and twenty-five dollars.� Playing to the cameras�like she�s a crack whore but she enforces that three bill minimum.

HBO. Whatever happened to �Home Box Office�? I don�t watch The Sopranos either.

But speaking of crap, I was thinking of writing about the Oscars this year, while they�re happening, in a series of short on-line entries; I was thinking this would be the most personally satisfying compromise I could possibly make between my annual intention (I�ve had it since The Fly wasn�t nominated for anything) to boycott the Oscars (and really, I�ve been good this year, I didn�t even look up the nominations until the next day�well, no, it was the same day, but very late in the day), and my inability to ever miss the Oscars, because they are in my blood. I watched the Oscars in India. So I�m thinking that maybe I won�t spend Sunday night out at the opera, or at a reading, or volunteering at a soup kitchen or wherever my admiration for Gillian Anderson�s performance in the The House of Mirth virtually demands that I should be that night, in protest; that instead I�ll be at home, again, watching the Oscars�but as part of my work, really, as a �popular� writer�when it occurs to me to wonder exactly how many tens of thousands of women will have reached exactly the same decision by the time the first recent award-winning anorexic is disgorged onto the red carpet from her limousine.

: back : / : forth :