newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2001-03-21

Well I just couldn't go to bed without mentioning what a splendid time my friend Michael and I had at The Idiot, which is being produced and very well-performed as a play at a new company in Soho called Manhattan Theater Ensemble.

At the present time I am in love with the 18th century. I started reading the Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin and then got sidetracked onto Samuel Eliot Morrison's MUCH more readable History of the American People, in which I read the words "great hardwood forests, blue grass prairies, fertile meadows, and vast herds of buffalo and deer." I want to be young again, and living in 1773.

Dining on steak and potatoes in a warm wooden room filled with mirrors. Sloshing, shouldering through curtains of rain along dark streets which smell slightly of sea, to the theater. Sinking, in wet clothes, into an orchestra seat�centuries of wet shoes through three hours and two intermissions, centuries of why: on stage, beautiful women showing their beautiful shoulders in beautiful gowns.

: back : / : forth :