newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2001-02-22

What is Martha Stewart doing wearing leather pants? Today she made Scottie dog cookies in black leather pants. I mean�you know what I mean.

I did not attend the fashion shows�this year�but I watched them on TV and was appalled at the abundance of reptile skin on display (although some of it was very beautiful); and again, last night, during what I could bring myself to watch of the Grammys, everywhere reptile skin (all of it repellent). Are there really so many reptiles about that three or four can be spared to clothe the tenor lead of every boy band?

HERE AND NOW I call for an international moratorium upon the killing of reptiles for their skins to fashion clothing. Not another reptile should die to make another shoe. I also propose an international moratorium upon the killing of mammals for their skins and fur. From now on, everyone buys used. There are enough synthetics in the world�there are enough leather car seats in the world. STOP NOW.

Gleaming leather pants, indeed.

PS: My sister informs me that Alexander McQueen, at the continental couture shows, has been showing dresses made of shells. I do not know where I stand upon this issue.

: back : / : forth :