newest / older / diaryland


AUTHOR / Site Meter / contact / face

also read: [email protected] / sorethroat


PURCHASE THE DIGITAL COLLECTION (2013)

RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV
RIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TVRIP-TV

HOME

2001-01-07

As I start work on this new site, what will be my path and rate of progress through the seven stages of web authoring?

1. enthusiasm�all is new. The stage of direct communication. Me, me, me! My trip, my pictures, my favorite things, my favorite self projected, whole, upon the screen.

2. obsession�it's me/it's everything. The stage of self-referential communication. I am, as you know. My flaws, dislikes, and private feuds; my sex life�real and imaginary�anatomized.

3. comprehension�the possibilities are infinite/I reflect them, and they me. A momentary stage, which can recur, of creative inspiration. I will make something to beautify this new world for its wanderers.

4. expectation�time takes so long/I want something for my pains. A stage of cycles. Patience has its fever crises, modesty disrobes and then retreats, every once in awhile hope flashes its broken beacon, compelling more blind faith. I am trying! Creative production surges and declines in patterns fixed as fingerprints�across the months, a steady progress on the thing that was inspired by comprehension, the thing which has become a product. Who will buy, or offer favors?

5. disappointment�enough already. The stage of self-promotion, more or less disguised as honest labor. The web is a rat race, and the wrong rats are winning. If I could win, others like me would have a better chance of winning too. Vote for me! Why aren't you voting for me! Angry cries, plaintive cries, sullen silences.

6. disillusionment�infinite possibility is a trick of the light/this is only a powerful tool. The stage of product promotion, more or less blatant. I am nothing, the links are all. All is grass for sheep. All is shrinking in size.

7. renunciation�it was not enough. A stage of absence from the web, which can be permanent. Pontificate on Usenet pulpits, slum in dirty chatrooms. After all, I am an intellectual, with needs! Yet new trips, new pictures, new bugaboos tend to breed new enthusiasms. Is another web site on the way?

: back : / : forth :